description

On a beach at Berck-sur-Mer, Patrick Bouchain plays the alphabet book. Twenty six letters and as many words to arculate concepts, stories and memories. As a result, a movie that clicks with the image of its character: both private and universal, delicate and visionary. This conversation is also the story of a meeting and the significant relationship between the two generation of architects. It’s also the story of a common wish to commit to the world they live in – thanks to their shared passion for a career that keeps on inventing and spreading novelties.

Patrick Bouchain is an architect and urban designer born in 1945. He was a professor at the Ecole Camondo in Paris, at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Bourges and the Ecole de Creation Industrielle in Paris. He consecutively worked as an adviser to Jack Lang, then to the President of the Public Institution of the Grand Louvre. He worked together with a variety of contemporary artists such as Daniel Buren and Bartabas. He was the conductor of the show on the Champs-Elysees in Paris as part of the festivities for the upcoming new year 2000 and the guest commissioner at the Pavillon Français during the Venice biennale of architecture in 2006.

Fundamentally nonconformist, his architecture “HHQ” stands for “High Human Quality”. His projects are always centered towards the development of constructions open to the public, the advocation for cultural events, the ongoing questioning of the norms, the ability we put to use.

With the support of the Frac Centre-Val de Loire and in partnership with France Culture.

Distributed by Météore Films. Buy the DVD.

 

Trailer.

images

données

  • Name : Une Diagonale - conversation avec Patrick Bouchain
  • Directors : Nicola Delon + Julien Choppin
  • Date : 2017
  • Distribution : Météore Films
  • With the support of : France Culture + FRAC Centre - Val de Loire

description

Sur une plage de Berck-sur-Mer, Patrick Bouchain se prête au jeu de l’abécédaire. Vingt six lettres et autant de mots pour articuler des concepts, des histoires et des souvenirs. Il en résulte un film à l’image du personnage : à la fois intime et universel, sensible et visionnaire. Cette conversation est aussi l’histoire d’une rencontre, d’une complicité entre deux générations d’architectes. L’histoire d’un désir commun d’habiter le monde avec engagement. Celle de la passion pour un métier à inventer et transmettre.

Architecte et scénographe né en 1945, Patrick Bouchain a été professeur à l’École Camondo à Paris, à l’École des Beaux-arts de Bourges et à l’École de Création industrielle de Paris. Il a successivement été conseiller auprès de Jack Lang, puis auprès du Président de l’Établissement public du Grand Louvre. Il a collaboré avec de nombreux artistes contemporains dont Daniel Buren et Bartabas. Il a été le chef d’orchestre du spectacle sur les Champs-Élysées à Paris dans le cadre de la célébration du passage à l’an 2000 et le commissaire invité du Pavillon Français à la Biennale d’architecture de Venise en 2006.

Foncièrement anticonformiste, il pratique une architecture «HQH» pour «Haute Qualité Humaine», développant les chantiers ouverts au public, véritables actes culturels, la remise en question permanente des normes, et valorisant la maîtrise d’usage, cœur de tout projet.

Avec le soutien du Frac Centre – Val de Loire et en partenariat avec France Culture.

Bande annonce.

images

données

  • Nom : Une Diagonale - conversation avec Patrick Bouchain
  • Réalisateurs : Nicola Delon + Julien Choppin
  • Date : 2017
  • Distribution : Météore Films
  • En partenariat avec : France Culture + FRAC Centre - Val de Loire