About

First a collective of architects founded in 2001 by Julien Choppin and Nicola Delon, Encore Heureux  claims a generalist practice to build building as well as installations, playgrounds, or exhibitions… At the crossroads of types and equipped with a lucid and critical enthusiasm, they imagine the conditions and prompt situations in order to inhabit the complexity of the world.  In 2016, Sébastien Eymard join in as a third partner and the team grows to include about fifteen creators from various backgrounds. So that Encore Heureux keeps rhyming  with high standards, lucidity, optimism, and commitment…

TO GO BEYOND SPECIALIZATIONS
We strongly believe in the necessity of thinking globally, in a way that include at once people and situations, in opposition to our world of experts and specialists. We refuse labels and all the professional barcodes that are meant to provide all the informations on a merchandise and guide, on a standardized shelve, the clients’ choice toward the artist, the decorator, the designer, the scenographer, the interior architect, the graphic designer, the web designer, the landscaper, the fashion designer or the architect. We obviously do not claim to be, ourselves, all of these. However, we are in favor of a sensitive and open methodology of work, of a collective process fed by as numerous as joyous partnerships. We do claim to be « globally generous » and consider the here described approach to be the only one able to allow us to accurately understand very specific issues.

TO CULTIVATE ONE’S DESIRE
Each question asked, each situation, each story is by definition unique and so requires a singular answer. To re-question the client’s needs and desires at each step of our work has proven to be the sine qua non condition for a successful project. The desires thus cultivated, clarified and re-affirmed, will lead our work on the right track and nourish it with goals and point of references. We imagine our creative mission as the one of a mountain guide who, through the steep tracks of reality, has to accompany these desires safely and soundly. To do so we have a continuous ambition to find new, more reliable, more beautiful and faster paths.

TO CAUSE THE UNEXPECTED
Our team has proven itself to be a fertile territory from which countless possibilities keep emerging. To these numerous visions we add various inspiration influences drawn from the contemporary art field as much as from the one of vernacular architecture. Our work process consists of round-trips from those unbridled imaginary worlds to various forms of modeling, from stimulations to simulations. On the way, we will have to pass by the miniature stage, the cardboard model, the overall view as well as the detailed one, thanks to a game of scales from which the magic occurs that brings us back to childhood, allow us to see differently and keep awakening our curiosity.

TO THINK MORE TO CONSUME LESS
As we cannot build without materials, destruction and consumption, we cannot think of a fair and economical project without spending extra time imagining it. We consider as not only possible but also necessary the invention of new mode of construction: economically and ecologically sober, thus rich in meaning and imagination. Each situation offers a multitude of resources that only a thorough analysis may uncover. Each place is bursting with objects, memories, living and sedimented matter to be used or inspired from. To us, the relevance of a project results from a know-how to compose with what is available to us here and now, an ability to tell new stories from a present that constantly need to be explored and re-explored.

TO FORESEE THE FUTURE
A project can only be assessed over time. If the materials can happily be worn out over time, the pleasure and comfort of use of a build needs to remain still if not improve and renew itself with the years. We cannot think of and build a shape, an object, a building without anticipating what its future will be so that they will remain flexible, rich of new and renewed potentialities and thus the hosts of countless and endless life experiences. The inauguration is a beginning, not an end. It marks a step in the course of a story that us, the creators, should be held partially responsible for, by definition as much as by conviction. Today more than ever, architects car not avoid their responsibility, their liability, toward the world that comes. The need, must and have to imagine what will be tomorrow, and what tomorrow will be.

À propos

Collectif d’architectes fondé en 2001 parJulien Choppin et Nicola Delon, Encore Heureux revendique une pratique généraliste pour concevoir des bâtiments, des installations, des jeux ou des expositions… A la croisée des genres, au travers d’un enthousiasme critique, ils imaginent des conditions et créent des situations pour habiter la complexité du monde. En 2016 Sébastien Eymard rejoint l’aventure comme troisième associé et l’équipe s’agrandit pour rassembler une quinzaine de concepteurs d’horizons variés. Pour qu’Encore Heureux rime avec exigence et lucidité, optimisme et engagement…

SOYONS GÉNÉRALISTES
Nous croyons intensément à la nécessité de relier les choses, les hommes et les situations, à rebours d’un monde devenu de spécialistes. Nous refusons les étiquettes et les codes barres profes­sionnels censés renseigner sur la marchandise et orienter, sur les rayonnages, le choix du commanditaire vers l’artiste, le décorateur, le designer, le scénographe, l’architecte d’intérieur, le graphiste, le web designer, le paysagiste, le styliste ou l’architecte. Nous n’avons évidemment pas la prétention d’être tout cela à la fois. Cependant, partisans d’une méthodologie sensible et ouverte et d’une dynamique collective faite d’alliances multiples et joyeuses, nous nous revendiquons « généreux généralistes », et considérons cette approche comme la seule susceptible de nous faire prendre la juste mesure de problématiques toutes spécifiques.

CULTIVONS LES DÉSIRS
Chaque question posée, chaque contexte, chaque histoire est par définition unique et nécessite par conséquent une réponse singulière. Réinterroger les besoins et les envies du commanditaire à chacune des étapes du travail s’avère la condition sine qua non de la réussite d’un projet : les désirs ainsi cultivés, précisés, réaffirmés, aiguilleront notre travail qui ne cessera de trouver en eux des caps, des repères, des balises d’orientation. Nous imaginons alors notre mission de concepteur comme celle d’un guide de haute montagne qui, par les che­mins escarpés de la réalité, se doit d’accompagner ces désirs à bon port. Pour ce faire, nous garderont permanente l’ambition de trouver de nouveaux parcours plus sûrs, plus beaux et plus rapides.

ENGENDRONS L’INATTENDU
Notre équipe s’avère un territoire fertile d’où émergent d’innombrables possibles. Ces visions multiples s’augmentent de sources d’inspiration issues tant du monde de l’art contemporain que de l’architecture vernaculaire. Le processus de travail consiste en des aller-retour entre ces imaginaires débridés et différentes formes de modélisations, entre stimulations et simulations. En chemin, il nous faudra passer par la miniature, par la maquette en carton, par la vue d’ensemble comme de détail, par ce jeu d’échelles dont la magie nous fait redevenir enfants, et nous fait voir toujours autrement ce qui ne doit cesser d’éveiller notre curiosité.

PENSONS PLUS POUR CONSOMMER MOINS
S’il n’y a pas de construction sans matériaux, et donc sans destruction et consommation, il n’y a pas de projet juste et économe sans dépense redoublée d’imagination. Nous considérons comme non seulement possible mais nécessaire l’invention d’autres modalités de construction : économiquement et écologiquement sobres, et par là même riches de sens et d’imaginaires nouveaux. Chaque contexte offre mille ressources que seule une analyse fine et systématique peut révéler. Chaque situation regorge d’objets, de mémoires, de matières vives et sédimentées à utiliser comme on magnifie. La justesse d’un projet résulte à nos yeux d’un savoir composer avec ce qui existe ici et maintenant, d’un savoir raconter de nouvelles histoires avec un présent à toujours réexplorer, pour mieux s’y inscrire.

ENVISAGEONS L’AVENIR
Un projet ne s’approprie réellement que dans le temps : si les matériaux peuvent s’user avec bonheur, le plaisir et le confort que les constructions offrent ne doivent cesser de se renouveler. Nous ne pouvons concevoir une forme, un objet, un bâtiment sans anticiper leur devenir pour qu’ils demeurent souples, riches de nouvelles potentialités, porteurs d’expériences de vie toujours à découvrir. L’inauguration signe un commencement, non une fin. Elle marque une étape dans le cours d’une histoire dont les concepteurs que nous sommes demeurent coresponsables, par définition et conviction. Car aujourd’hui plus que jamais, les architectes ne peuvent se dérober à la responsabilité du monde qui advient, et donc à la nécessité d’imaginer ce qui, demain, doit exister.